Colourful Ka-Bobs!

done!

Even when the wind is blistering cold and there is snow falling, there is just nothing more satisfying than a BBQ. It might be the challenge of having to go out in the snow and BBQ. For me, the challenge is the fact that I don’t own a BBQ. So I often try to recreate the yummy-ness that I only get when I visit my parents during the summer.

Shish-ka-bobs are one of the best foods to have either as an individual, or when hosting. Because the ingredients are controlled by the creator, they can really be built to fit different tastes. Onion Lover? Lots of onion for you! Vegetarian? No meat is A-OK! Carnivore? Enjoy your stick of chicken!

The other benefit is that you don’t have to stick to one type of meat. Sure, if you’re having a “low-on-funds” week, why not make up some meatballs and put them on a stick with some veggies. It’s honestly not difficult to make this meal work at all.

Ingredients:

As I said above, it really depends on your tastes. For me, I always found the following a really god combination of flavours

  • Chicken Breast
  • Multi-coloured bell peppers
  • Red onion
  • Mushrooms
  • BBQ sauce

ingredients

 

Step 1: Cut everything up

The best thing to do is cut up everything before you start to assemble the ka-bobs. My suggestion would be to cut up your veggies before the meat, simply because you’ll either have to wash or change cutting boards before cutting up anything after the meat, for sanitary reasons.

For the bell peppers, I suggest cutting the top off the same way you would a pumpkin. That way when you pull the top off, most of the seeds come with it.

like a pumpkin

 

Slice up the pepper and then cut it into semi-large squares. Larger than what you would put in a salad for example. But make sure that they aren’t larger than what you anticipate your chicken pieces to be.

pepper pieces

 

In retrospect, using an orange pepper to demonstrate this may not have been the smartest. My apologize if you have any troubles seeing this.

Next step would be to cut up the onion. Cut off each of the ends and remove the outer layer of the onion.

cutting an onion

 

Next, cut it in half and remove the outer later of one of the halves to cut up. And look! I ended up with a mutant onion! There were multiple pieces inside the onion. I don’t know why, but I have a fascination when this happens!

mutant onion!

 

Then just simply slice up the layers of the onion to about the same size as the peppers.

onion pieces

 

As for the mushrooms, you’re going to want to cut them rather thick, as they tend to shrivel a little on the BBQ/in the oven. Luckily, the pre-cut package that I bought from the store had a good thickness.

chopped mushrooms

 

Lastly, the meat. Whatever you choose, try to cut it up in bite-sized pieces. It’s easier to eat it from the stick then.

chicken pieces

 

Next, just assemble the ka-bobs! I tend to give one piece of chicken for three vegetables. I usually fit about 4 pieces of chicken on one stick, but this will of course vary depending on what you want to include on yours.

putting pieces on stick

 

Once you’ve finished them, place it in a lined oven safe dish. You don’t necessarily have to line it, but it makes it so much easier to clean up afterwards!

all on sticks

 

Now, you can choose to bake them plain, like this. Or you can put a marinade or sauce over them. I chose BBQ sauce, and I basically drowned the shish-ka-bobs in it.

BBQ sauce

 

If you choose to bake them in the oven, bake them at about 400 degrees celsius for about 30-35 minutes. Before eating, I suggest cutting open one of the chicken pieces to make sure they aren’t pink on the inside.

If you’re BBQing, good luck, because I don’t know how to do that properly…

cooked

 

Then simply enjoy! They are easier to eat with a fork by pulling it off the stick, but you can indeed eat them directly from the stick!

done!

 

I’d love to hear your concoctions for this one! Comment below with your favorite combos for shish-ka-bobs below!

Leave a Reply

